Pat Lefemine 28-Feb-22
TonyBear 28-Feb-22
TonyBear 28-Feb-22
trkyslr 28-Feb-22
Paul@thefort 28-Feb-22
trkyslr 28-Feb-22
scentman 28-Feb-22
27-Feb-22
I'm in Iowa if that makes any difference. I got into turkey hunting again about 5 years ago. I was taken as a youth hunter once and got a nice tom and then it was probably 10 years later I started going again. I'm still pretty new at this. I've shot 2 Jakes and 1 tom in the past 5 years. When I first started I bought a tom and hen decoy and struck out that first year. I used just the hen the following year and shot a jake. I've used the tom off and on but have never had birds come in. I bought a jake decoy to pair with the hen on advice from a friend and shot a nice tom last year with just the hen out again as they weren't coming in to the jake/hen set up. I'm just curious if there's a point in the season where they work well/don't work? If I'm setting them up wrong or why they never seem to come in when I have a male decoy out. Two years ago I had 2 lone toms out in the field 100 yards away gobbling and strutting but after about 5 minutes they just left. My buddy used a jake/hen combo and a tom came in and beat the crap out of his jake. What are your thoughts on using tom/jake decoys?

27-Feb-22