Jaeger63 12-Mar-22
JSW 14-Mar-22
Jaeger63 16-Mar-22
Elknut209 26-Mar-22
Jaeger63 29-May-22
RT 29-May-22
'Ike' (Phone) 29-May-22
05-Mar-22
I'm a non resident who has waited 17 years and my CC was finally hit. I'm assuming I drew my second choice which was 7W since I was on the cusp of having enough points for it. I could have possibly drawn my first choice in the random pass but very doubtful. My questions are to the folks who have either hunted 7W or have intimate knowledge of it. Did you have a quality elk hunting experience? Do you feel it's worth burning 17 points on? Did you feel crowded by other hunters? Can you use boot leather to get away from the crowds? I see there is a wilderness area in the unit. Could a man find some isolation and solitude by hiking back into the wilderness area? I've also read and heard that drought conditions can make or break a hunt in that unit? I did purchase the point guard option as well so I'm just trying to make the best decision after waiting this many years. Thanks in advance for any advice or info you may be willing to share. Tony

05-Mar-22
If you don’t think it’s worth it why did you put in. So you drew and now don’t want it because you did do your home work . Taking the Tag away from someone who would love to have it. You are exactly why draws are FU. Man up and go hunt cause while you get to go some other poor guy is still waiting.

05-Mar-22
Whipranger - if you can’t just answer the ops question, why not just ignore? No one on here cares what your thoughts are on the right or wrong of a draw hunt. In case you don’t know, if he uses point guard it gets offered to the next guy in line.

05-Mar-22
SteveB he's right. And the tag will most likely go to a non profit... not the next guy in line. So there still is a poor guy out there waiting.

Jaeger65... my advice to you is to just go hunt. It's your tag... learn the unit and and have a great hunt. Ed F

05-Mar-22