wildwilderness 24-Mar-22
APauls 24-Mar-22
wildwilderness 24-Mar-22
speedgoat 24-Mar-22
speedgoat 24-Mar-22
19-Mar-22

wildwilderness's embedded Photo
wildwilderness's embedded Photo
So lets talk about Cape buff shot placement- This picture is from another thread-

Where to shoot?

19-Mar-22
I am no expert on this one, but if you’re asking for a best guess … I would shoot the blue dot ??.

But might wait for that near leg to take a step first.

19-Mar-22
Shoot with what

No arrow is killing him with that set of dots

19-Mar-22
60# Hoyt with Rage :)

19-Mar-22
I’m thinking none of those that line up with the leg bone. The red or yellow if you had a different angle, but none of them if he’s standing with that leg blocking the vitals. My two cents

19-Mar-22
Well...I've never shot a cape buffalo but with purple or red he's meat. Anatomy no different than the many deer, elk or moose I've shot. Diaphragm is another ten inches or so behind those spots. Yellow is dead as well as long as hits the heart, but don't want to favor the brisket. No such thing as dead, deader or deadest.

19-Mar-22
Check on an anatomy sketch of the rib cage of a Cape Buffalo...very thick skin, very heavy rib bones, rib bones overlap to a large degree. Although I don't think it is heavily enforced there is, in South Africa, a legal requirement of a minimum 80# draw weight bow for Cape Buffalo.

19-Mar-22
Is this kinda like Blood Trail- CB ?

In the position the animal is in - slightly quartering forward- I would pick tan first and Orange second.

19-Mar-22
I recall the experts describing the ribs as venetian blinds, and big and thick. With the thinnest ribs up front and the best angle being slightly 1/4 towards you. But I am not sure I have the balls to try to poke one with a sharp stick. I would have a lot more confidence trying to kill one inside 50 yards if I was carrying my lever gun. Those creatures look exponentially bigger and meaner the closer you get to them.

19-Mar-22