t-roy 24-May-22
Fuzzy 26-May-22
Pop-r 26-May-22
Hunt98 28-May-22
Fuzzy 07-Jun-22
Mark Watkins 16-Jun-22
Habitat 17-Jun-22
20-May-22
Normally I disc, drag, plant brassica, spread lime and fertilizer and drag again in late July.

Would it be better to spread the pelletized lime now?

If so, would spreading the lime before discing be good, bad or indifferent?

20-May-22
Sooner the better as changing soil PH moves slowly, generally 6 mos or more.

20-May-22
Is your pH low? Pat is right—it takes several months to move pH with standard lime products. If the pH isn’t low, there is no need to add lime and your time and money would be better spent on other inputs.

21-May-22
The pH is around 5.5.

21-May-22
Spread it before you disk, pelletized works very fast as opposed to ag lime. Get a soil test and see what they recommend in terms of ag lime and go 1/3 less than that for pelletized. I'm no expert but local ag guys have helped me with that and it seems to work pretty well.

24-May-22
At 5.5 PH, you’re going to need a lot of PEL lime to get to 6-6.5 PH. Ask your agronomist, I’m guessing 600-700 lbs per acre and then about 300 lbs per year to keep it up where you want it.

I’d get it spread as soon as your can.

Mark

24-May-22
Pelletized lime definitely works quicker than ag lime, but it still takes a good while to break down. Like stated above, I’d spread it ASAP.

26-May-22
6 months before you need it

26-May-22
I'd bet more than the 6-700 lbs/acre to move it a point very fast. You can spray it with liquid calcium and get a point a whole lot faster.

28-May-22
Thanks for all the suggestions!

07-Jun-22