blue spot 22-May-22
Capra 22-May-22
Shawn 22-May-22
Lewis 23-May-22
Pat Lefemine 23-May-22
Catscratch 24-May-22
Castle Oak 24-May-22
21-May-22
I am new to this and have a unique situation. The location in in zone 7B west Tennessee. The are area is about 1/3 acre ( 40yds X 40 yds) and it is a mixed shade area with tall trees preventing full sun, The area is freshly cleared, it is my septic leach field.

I'm looking to plant something now since it is all cleared from the native underbrush and a blank canvas. I read all kinds of seed company's ideas today and at this point I'm more confused than when I started. This does not need to be a perfect plot I just want to plant something that has the best odds for success to get started and provides attractive feed vs the native plants. It was already a corridor that had a lot of activity. It is bordered by a creek on the north side an adjacent farm that was feed corn last year and I believe he planted something else this year, and a wide open area that I may improve in the future on the other side.

Thanks for the help ! Nate

21-May-22
Clover and cereal grains are super simple and easy. They are generally best planted in the fall but spring planting will work, they just tend to be more weedy. If it were me I would look at a mix of red and white clovers with some chicory and sunflowers mixed in.

21-May-22
I would agree with catscratch’s assessment. Not sure that I would add the sunflowers.

Catscratch…..Is there a particular benefit to planting sunflowers, other than as a food source?

21-May-22
Sunflower heads are like candy to deer, and are high in protein AND fats.

To answer your question about reasons other than feed is that they are high nitrogen users which help reduce grasses in the legume clover crop. Just a way to discourage grassy weeds, help the clover, and fatten up the deer during the summer.

21-May-22
A white clover variety.

22-May-22