Pop-r 20-Jul-22
KSflatlander 20-Jul-22
fuzzy 21-Jul-22
welka 21-Jul-22
Jarhead 22-Jul-22
fuzzy 22-Jul-22
Rut Nut 23-Jul-22
18-Jul-22
I'm not too good at posting links so maybe someone will help me out but a 6 yr old boy was bitten near Colorado Springs and died nearly a week later in the hospital this past week. God bless him and his family!

I think this is a reminder to be cautious as one can be and kill EVERY venomous snake you see!

18-Jul-22
So sad. Prayers for his family.

18-Jul-22

JL's Link
Colorado Springs 6-year-old killed by rattlesnake bite

by: Kate Singh, Maggy Wolanske

Posted: Jul 12, 2022 / 10:15 PM MDT

Updated: Jul 13, 2022 / 12:52 PM MDT SHARE

SECURITY-WIDEFIELD, Colo. — A Colorado Springs family is mourning the loss of 6-year-old Simon Currat, after he suffered a rattlesnake bite while out on a trail.

It happened on July 5 in the Blue Stem Prairie Open Space, which is located just south of the Colorado Springs Municipal Airport.

According to a GiveSendGo, set up in support of the family, Currat was with his father and younger sister when he encountered the rattlesnake.

“We received a call for a possible allergic reaction,” said Derek Chambers, battalion chief for the Security Fire Department.

Chambers said a short time later they learned the victim was 6 years old and had received a rattlesnake bite.

“We responded immediately,” he said. “The patient and his father were out riding bikes in the Blue Stem Open Space. They were on a trail.”

Chambers said the boy got off his bike to look at a mile marker sign.

“When he got off of his bike, that’s when he encountered the snake and yelled, ‘rattlesnake.'”

Chambers said the boy’s dad ran to him, grabbed him, and went for help.

According to GiveSendGo, campaign Currat’s father did not have a phone with him and ran to the nearest intersection for help.

The El Paso County Coroner’s Office confirmed Currat was eventually moved to Children’s Hospital in Adams County after the incident.