TD 03-Aug-22
IdyllwildArcher 03-Aug-22
midwest 03-Aug-22
Genesis 05-Aug-22
Stubbleduck 06-Aug-22
Bowfreak 06-Aug-22
sticksender 07-Aug-22
02-Aug-22
I know this discussion has been hashed here in the past, but I googled the threads and they didn't help.

I turn 44 in a few weeks. I've been using readers for a couple years at the suggestion of my optometrist (and ended up being glad I got Rx readers once I got them and could see the difference), but a few months ago, I got LASIK surgery.

Now I no longer need glasses, but LASIK surgery fast-forwards presbyopia by about 5 years and now I'm really shackled to my readers.

My problem is not the pins: I can see the pins fine.

What I can't see is my peep in order to know where to center my pin. It's far worse in low light.

Have people noticed this? And what have you done?

02-Aug-22
You center your pin and not the housing?

03-Aug-22
I'm not really sure what you're asking. Looking through the peep, I center the pin in the middle of the peep site, which is what I assumed everyone did. In low light, my peep is just a blur and I don't really have a reference as to where to center my pin.

03-Aug-22
Would adding a kisser help?

03-Aug-22
I think the common practice is center the pin housing (why so many have a visible ring) then put the pin on target. But I'm just a trad guy so....

No help with your question but I'm a few years ahead of you and can relate that losing what was once "perfect" vision sucks.

03-Aug-22
I have to ask. Do you see your peep? I always thought of it as a window. You look though the window where the light is the strongest. Your brain will do this for you if you focus on other things like what you want to hit. My eyes aren't what they forty years ago. Open sights on a rifle are tough for me to use but looking though a peep still works for me. The same applies to my bows.

03-Aug-22