'Ike' (Phone) 08-Aug-22
Jaquomo 08-Aug-22
Jordan 08-Aug-22
05-Aug-22

ND String Puller's embedded Photo
How about a thread related to hunting, that some of us could actually learn something. Full disclaimer: I’m no expert and don’t claim to be, so use at your own risk.

Seems like in the last several years everyone and their brother is headed west in search of the September dream- elk hunting. And for the last several years I’ve been one of them, but find myself hunting solo for 10 plus days. It seems I spend more time dodging other hunters than actually hunting. But that’s the game, this public land hunting.

So I’ll start and add more later.

-be friendly be respectful: should go without saying right, but as a non resident you are a guest. One year at a small town gas station. Another hunter was filling next to me. We exchanged a few words like “are they talking yet”. After bumping into each other a couple more times, I knew we we’re hunting the same general area. Turns out he was hunting solo as well and as a resident knew the area pretty well. One day he stopped me and asked me how it was going. I said “not worth a $hit” but told him where I’d been hunting. At the end of our conversation I said, “hey if you get one down, stop by my camp I’ll help you pack him out”. He said likewise. In the end no elk were packed but I still get one text a year from him every September asking how it’s going! Good dude

-buy your groceries etc. in the local small town. I usually get a couple 1” thick fresh cut ribeyes for a victory feast-but more often then not I end up eating them without the victory LOL but... I’ve got some great tips from the locals that drive the same roads I’m hunting off of.

Last but not least -don’t park your dang camp trailer in front of a locked gate to lay claim to the area then get pissed if I walk around it. I won’t if there’s a pickup or quad parked, to avoid bumping into another hunter...but a camp trailer, come on man.