WI Shedhead 26-Nov-22
TREESTANDWOLF 26-Nov-22
Paul@thefort 26-Nov-22
Bentshaft 28-Nov-22
Stoneman 19-Apr-23
Mark Watkins 20-Apr-23
Inshart 28-Jul-23
06-Aug-22
Let’s get this 2022 season of hunt recaps up and running!

Hunting sheep has been a long term goal and dream of mine. I began applying and sending money away when I first started hunting at 25. There was a few years there that the money was pretty tough to come up with as I was pretty much a ski bum in the mountains, but year in and year out I sent away that cashiers check.

I have switched units to apply for here in Colorado several times but what I have always been looking for is a true backcountry alpine wilderness sheep hunt. I’m in the front range now, but I’ve been applying for the last ten years for a unit near where I used to live and know really well. It’s right up on the Continental Divide and about as high as you can get in the lower 48.

06-Aug-22
I’ll fast forward to this spring. I was up in Wyoming at the top of a ridge glassing for spring bears. The wind was howling and it was nasty cold. I remembered a tree that I sat under in years past that provided some cover but still allowed for a good view so I hiked up and got under it. I recalled that I was able to get service up there so I took my phone off airplane mode. I’d been out of service for a few days so a bunch of emails came through. I scanned through them and came across a couple groups of emails from CPW. The first group was 3 emails. I started with my daughters…sheep unsuccessful. My sons…sheep unsuccessful. Next was mine. Congratulations, You were successful in drawing your 1st Choice as listed below!!! I couldn’t believe it. 17 years and I finally got my Bighorn Ram tag of my dreams!!