Jethro 07-Sep-22
Bow Bullet 07-Sep-22
cnelk 07-Sep-22
JohnMC 07-Sep-22
Bow Bullet 07-Sep-22
cnelk 07-Sep-22
bigeasygator 07-Sep-22
06-Sep-22
I'm struggling with something that I think should be pretty simple. Gearing up for our annual backcountry elk hunt and we are trying to communicate with our satellite devices this year. Both devices (InReach Mini & Spot) can text to regular phones with no problems but we cannot get them to "talk" to each other. Anyone have any pointers? I have AT&T and my brother has Verizon as cell providers, don't think this matters but kinda scratching my head right now. Thanks.

06-Sep-22
InReach no doubt.

06-Sep-22
Never had an issue with an inReach talking to another inReach device. Does the SPOT generate a phone number the same way an inReach does?

06-Sep-22
Inreach to Inreach is done via Garmin email. I have zero knowledge of SPOT

06-Sep-22
I don't know anything about Spot, but I'd try this: whoever has Spot send a message from Spot to other guy personal cell phone. Guy 2 then saves that message id number in his cell phone contacts. Then with inreach send message to spot using the saved contact info. If you're bluetoothed to your phone, the inreach should be able to pull up the saved Spot contact info. I think then you will have each others info saved. Maybe?

Don't know if it will work, but I think it will.

06-Sep-22
I would simply have the SPOT guys rent an inReach for the hunt. They are super cheap to rent.

06-Sep-22
I know with Inreach the first text must start from the Inreach device/You can't text a InReach without first receiving a text first. So if Spot the same way I could see how that creates a issue.

06-Sep-22
Matt sent you text

06-Sep-22
I believe SPOT and inreach use different satellites too. Inreach uses iridium network and SPOT uses Globalstar. Maybe that’s in play too.

07-Sep-22