molsonarcher 08-Nov-22
JTreeman 08-Nov-22
bowhunt 08-Nov-22
bowhunt 08-Nov-22
c3 09-Nov-22
molsonarcher 09-Nov-22
2Wild Bill 29-Nov-22
06-Nov-22
I am looking for suggestions and advice here on a fairly comprehensive list for a backcountry elk hunt next fall. This will be an archery hunt at high elevation in the month of September. I am a complete novice when it comes to both elk hunting and backpacking in for a hunt. I will be purchasing all the gear i need, and want to make sure i have adequate items to make the most of the trip, and to keep some level of comfort from the elements.

Gear that i am looking for advice/recommendations on is as follows:

Sleeping quilt(not a mummy bag) Either the western mountaineering astralite or the enlightened equipment enigma. Both have solid reviews and are available in multiple degree levels. Im currently leaning toward the 20degree bags, but am not sure if i need one that cold.

Sleeping pad: Im pretty set on the therma rest neo air x therm max, but am open to others.

Packs: Im looking at the Exo K3. It has a load shelf and expandable bag system, but i am not sure what size would be best. The 4800 or 6400 ci?

I want to make sure i have enough room for all essential gear( clothes, tent, sleeping pad, quilt), as well as room for enough food for 7 days.

Tent: Looking at the Kuiu storm star 2 person and the Nemo kunai 2 person. Both seem to be rated for 4 seasons( again not sure if this is necessary). I am thinking the 2 person models would be adequate for leaving gear in while out hunting, and still leaving enough room for said gear and myself during inclement weather.

We will be hiring a packer to get the elk out(if successful). We dont want to be packed in with too much stuff to move if we dont land on the elk right away, so want to keep things reasonably light, but be quality gear as well. We will be able to come out and restock if necessary, but want to stay in as long as possible and hunt.