BCPYGuy 11-Apr-23
Kurt 12-Apr-23
Silent1 12-Apr-23
walking buffalo 12-Apr-23
Rackmastr 13-Apr-23
WhattheFOC 13-Apr-23
Nyati 13-Apr-23
11-Apr-23
I am serious about possibly booking an elk hunt in the south east kootenays British Columbia and was curious what information one may have on the elk heard and expectations one should have regarding size of bulls. This would be a hunt of a lifetime for me and i've been saving for it for many years. I just can't seem to get enough decent information on the area. any help or any 2 cents is greatly appreciated. i thank you in advance.

11-Apr-23
Much of the Kootenays have had a serious decline of elk over the last 20 years, 90% in some areas. Yes, this is due to exploding wolf and grizzly bear populations.

To get any decent intel, you'll need to ask with much more detail on where you are interested in hunting.

11-Apr-23
Just my opinion. I did 2 trips to SE BC. Unsuccessful on elk both trips. Did get a bear and a mountain goat. Then went to northern BC and my wife and I both got 2 great bulls.

May cost a little more to go to northern BC but it was worth it in my opinion

11-Apr-23
Nyati. Where and why year did you go north? I’ve been looking for several years but keep starting over as outfits change ownership and populations crash in certain areas. Still looking for a remote hunt for high success on mature bulls.

11-Apr-23