Thornton 04-May-23
LaughingWater 05-May-23
LaughingWater 05-May-23
greg simon 05-May-23
KY EyeBow 05-May-23
Bake 05-May-23
WV Mountaineer 05-May-23
04-May-23
I'm new to turkey hunting, and don't have access to any ag land etc. Instead I am running and gunning in eastern hardwood mountainous forests. I don't have a mentor, but have been inspired by Steve Rinella and others who have put shows out with this strategy. I am looking for feedback on my approach.

First, I am not typically able to roost a bird the night before and wait for fly down. I usually start out around day break with a plan to hike a 6-8 mile loop through a state park that i know has birds. i carry a fold up hen decoy and a jake decoy in a backpack. I hit a crow call about every quarter or mile or so, and listen for a gobble. In 7 trips, i have heard gobbles 6 times. I have not called any birds into range though.

So hear are my questions.

For guys that are hunting like this, are you mostly staying on trail? Or are you getting off trail to hardwood ridgetops etc?

I feel like ridgetops will get me closer to where birds are more likely to be, but once i'm off trail, i feel like i'm making a ton of noise because of all the dry leaves on the ground. I figure if i can hear a turkey shock gobble, that turkey can hear me crunching leaves, and i feel like he's probably already on his way out of there before he gobbles.

If you're hunting like this and you hear a gobble, how close do you try to get to the bird before setting up? Again, i feel like i'd be making a ton of noise with all the leaves on the ground, so i am basically setting up right when I hear a gobble (unless it is super far off). Its hard to know how far away the birds are, but i think i am often a few hundred yards away, which i think is a pretty far distance to call in a gobbler?

Any thoughts on calling? Again, i am new so i am thinking less is better than more. I'm basically using a friction call to cut, yelp and purr.