DonVathome 10-Nov-23
IdyllwildArcher 10-Nov-23
Corax_latrans 10-Nov-23
Goelk 18-Nov-23
Rock 20-Nov-23
spike78 20-Nov-23
rickepanton 14-Dec-23
15-May-23
I’m going to be backpacking in for 8 or so days with a buddy, need a way to charge our phones and my camera (Sony RX100).

What’s your go to?

Solar pad deal, rechargeable battery pack?

Complete noob regarding this type of stuff

15-May-23
Solar panel, several battery packs. I have one manual crank one as well that works very well.

15-May-23
Cell phone is my camera these days. Leave the cell on airplane mode most of the time. Carry an Anker portable charger ( 4 charges) and it easily keeps the phone charged for a week minimum.

15-May-23
I use my phone as a camera,and gps and have found anker battery packs to be the best. Can't comment on ot charging cameras. I use solar panels at base camp but don't have a backpacking model. Interested in grabbing one as well will be watching for recommendations.

15-May-23
I can't imagine a little point and shoot camera going through much battery. Bring an extra battery for camera if you think you might drain ine and a couple Anker type battery bank and you should be good to go.

15-May-23
I have one battery pack and a solar panel. The pack will last a week on light usage, just GPS, or a long weekend if I have any signal and use the phone a bit. The solar panel is great on 2 week hunts. It has limitations, such as cloudy days are worthless, but I've always been able to stay fully charged.

15-May-23
If you keep your phone on airplane mode and don’t use Onx or other apps very much a couple battery packs will easily last a week. I can squeeze a week easy, and I like to read my kindle app on my phone at downtimes

15-May-23
Unless you need the phone for OnX/Gaia, leave it in the truck. Take a digital camera. You’ll do a lot less effing around with it than a phone.

Plus, you’re going with a buddy. Do you really need 2 phones?

15-May-23