Paul@thefort 21-Mar-24
elkster 21-Mar-24
elkster 21-Mar-24
Grey Ghost 21-Mar-24
Corax_latrans 21-Mar-24
yellow eye 23-Mar-24
20-Mar-24

20-Mar-24
It's most certainly one of those different strokes for different folks things. It is effective if you master it, just like stringwalking, but it isn't the do all end all method by any means.

20-Mar-24
I started shooting a recurve this winter. After watching that video and another he did with Tom Clum I learned a lot. Another guy I watched was Clay Hayes. Gap shooting is the easiest for me to learn. I have been doing it for years with pins as well.

20-Mar-24
Recurve here. i draw and set my gap, then focus on the spot and let my mind maintain the correct gap in my peripheral vision- Gap- stinctive? Peripheral vision? I’m not sure what to call it.

I had problems on what to do if I missed when shooting instinctive. The mantra of “ shoot more” didn’t resonate…and then I realized the effective range of the true instinctive guys is very short. Its rare for one of the instinctive guys ever win a large tournament against other guys with an aiming system.

I tried shooting off the gap at the arrow and shot worse than when I focused on the spot.

Drawing to a set gap is essentially my backup to know that I will be right there- then I focus on shot execution. Works for me.

20-Mar-24
^^^^^^that is pretty well what I do as well^^^^^^ the 'gap stinctive' kind of thing.

20-Mar-24
Gapstinctive for the Win for my purposes. Though to be honest, if you shoot 3U, I don’t know how you can make any credible claim to be doing otherwise…. If you anchor under your eyeball and the full length of your arrow is NOT in line with the path from your eye to the mark, you’re 100% GONNA MISS, barring some major tuning issue or form error….. and an insane amount of luck…..