Snag 27-Oct-07
WapitiBob 27-Oct-07
del_binari 31-Oct-07
Elkbugle34 04-Nov-07
Clearwater 07-Nov-07
Snag 07-Nov-07
WapitiBob 07-Nov-07
26-Oct-07
I have been saving my elk preferense points for 5 years to get a quality area. I had been hunting with a rifle in party hunts, but got turned on to bow hunting 3 years ago, and have never looked back. I have been bivy hunting for the last two years on a general tag, but I would like to know if there are guys out there that have had much luck in controlled archery units. The Walla Walla unit and Wenaha unit have good odds of getting a quality Bull, but you need more points to get a shot at those tags. I don't mind waiting, since I don't know that much about the area in either unit. It would almost be a once in ten year draw to get either one.

My questions are...

For Wenaha or Walla Walla...

Would you recommend a guide, or would you go it alone? How do you hunt that area?

Are there better areas that are general season?

Thanks Todd

26-Oct-07
I have been saving my elk preferense points for 5 years to get a quality area. I had been hunting with a rifle in party hunts, but got turned on to bow hunting 3 years ago, and have never looked back. I have been bivy hunting for the last two years on a general tag, but I would like to know if there are guys out there that have had much luck in controlled archery units. The Walla Walla unit and Wenaha unit have good odds of getting a quality Bull, but you need more points to get a shot at those tags. I don't mind waiting, since I don't know that much about the area in either unit. It would almost be a once in ten year draw to get either one.

My questions are...

For Wenaha or Walla Walla...

Would you recommend a guide, or would you go it alone? How do you hunt that area?

Are there better areas that are general season?

Thanks Todd

26-Oct-07

StickFlicker's Link
http://forums.bowsite.com/tf/regional/thread.cfm?threadid=128060&MESSAGES=7&state=OR

26-Oct-07