live2hunt 15-Sep-09
Duke 15-Sep-09
thesquid 15-Sep-09
misser 18-Apr-21
Pete-pec 19-Apr-21
Gunny 19-Apr-21
Pete-pec 19-Apr-21
10-Sep-09
After they made it legal for ten year olds to hunt, I am in the process of building a deer box blind for my daughter. It took on a life of it's own and now has windows on all four sides, the sills are the same height as my shooting bench she is used to shooting from. It is 4' X 6', with a slopped roof. The front is 6' and the rear is 5'. We have painted it and I even shingled it. Most of the "enhancements" are from stuff I had laying around, or the neighbors who keep checking in on the progress of it, gave to me.

I will post pictures of it once it's finished. Anyways, I was thinking of putting some running gear under it so I could move it from location to location. I heard from some guys at work today that it is illegal to do this. Anybody know if that's true or not? I have never built a box blind before let alone hunted out of one. Just spoiling my daughter.

10-Sep-09
I'd say that it is legal to your question gunny. Don't know for sure but I just can't figure out why it wouldn't be. Send an email to your warden to get this cleared up. I know of a few guys that have wheels on their ladder stands - - same thing I'd guess!!!

10-Sep-09
Squid,

I checked in the regs, but damned if I can find anything on it. I'll have to check with DNR if guys here can't clear it up.

This damn thing weighs at least 1500 lbs if not more. I don't plan to take it on the highway, just move it around the property and the neighbors,and then only once or twice a year. I want the deer to get used to it before she hunts out of it, so it won't get moved that much.

10-Sep-09
I suggest using a quick-detach mechanism for the wheels so that one you are at your destination, you can remove the wheels and it is no longer a vehicle. shouldn't be too hard to do.

10-Sep-09