RK 11-May-10
Hoyt1 12-May-10
RK 13-May-10
TK 13-May-10
tex4k 22-May-10
Ron Miller 18-Sep-21
Ron Miller 18-Sep-21
09-May-10
I read these dogs are great for tracking wounded deer. How are they as pets? I have 3 small boys and would want to make sure my deer tracking dog (which ever breed I choose) also makes a good friendly pet. Any thoughts or comments? Any ideas how much these dogs cost?

10-May-10
langbow

Let me state I have never owned a blue lacy dog but being in the hunting business I have some second hand knowledge of them. What I have seen is that they are a very smart, fast dog with incredible sense of smell but they are not a rough dog, meaning really aggressive. They seem to be able to task almost any ranch job including cattle, sheep, tracking both hogs and deer. What I understand about them is that they are very good around kids.

Like any dog DO YOUR RESEARCH. Like any dog I think you will find a wide variety of pricing and quality of dogs. I do not know if they have any inherent problems like hip or eye problems.

What I have found is that paying a little more for excellent breeding goes a long way. May cost more up front but in the long run it is worth it.

We use labs in our business and train them to trail deer. They are a little slow for hogs, meaning they are not as good at getting out of the way of a mad boar, but they have been excellent on deer. My one year old now started at 7 months on her own trailing deer and by the end of the season was 8 out of 10 on finds and I pulled her off one because of to many javelinas in the area.

Back to Lacys. The ones that I have seen trail were excellent with the exception of one years ago. They are cool looking dogs. Good luck with your research and possible new friend.

RK

10-May-10