Granite 25-Oct-14
Billincamo 26-Oct-14
Brun 26-Oct-14
RogBow 19-Nov-14
tradi-doerr 19-Nov-14
rsw 27-Nov-14
Billincamo 27-Nov-14
05-Oct-14
In all the years I have bow hunted I never really thought about all the different weapons archers carry when in the woods, that is, until I started shooting a newer compound. Well, truth be told it was not my compound, but a bow my hunting partner had recently purchased. I started archery at the age of 5 with a compound and hunted/shot compound until the ripe age of 14. At that point I started using wood bows and to this day I only shoot wood bows. I enjoyed the intimacy of shooting a bow, almost as an artist enjoys their trade. I was fortunate enough to have the space to shoot daily and hone my skills to perfection. In recent years I have become fond of shooting targets at several hundred yards to understand the trajectory of each unique bow and the arrow that it flings. While I usually practice at 60 yards I would only take this shot in a hunting situation if every detail was perfect. I archery hunt because of the intimacy, the practice, the art, and the meat it puts on my table. This season while in the elk woods we began stump shooting around camp when we decided it would be fun to swap bows and continue on with our friendly competition. Now I held a heavy foreign object in my hand (a brand new mathews with a 65 pound draw) that was sighted in and shot by someone with 2 inches longer draw than myself. In his hand he held a 1956 bear with a 60 pound draw. We set a can at 60+ yards and he told me I should start. I drew the bow put the pin on target and whack the can was toast. He replied by stating, "good shooting". Throughout our shoot I hit my target, even out to 80 yards. Remind you I had not shot a compound in over a decade, but my this was not the compound from the 90's. This bow was easier to shoot than the muzzleloader I often hunt with. It made archery easy. There was no intimacy or art. It was simply point and shoot. Af