Contributors to this thread:
coelker 06-Mar-15
4nolz@work 06-Mar-15
coelker 06-Mar-15
t-roy 07-Mar-15
coelker 09-Mar-15
4nolz@work 10-Mar-15
06-Mar-15
Well my little girl is turning 9 this spring and is interested in something bigger than rabbits. I have a friend who has places to hunt in unit 2 arpund Boone. He has suggested we do the late muzzy hunt that runs over Xmas break.

If she is properly prepared is this a decent hunt? We are not looking for a big buck just a buck. Will the deer be into feeding patterns and trying to focus on fattening up?

Is there any chance for a reduced cost doe tag? Do youth get a price break? I see the buck tags were like 460 each. I have never hunted spehite tails myself, but would like an opportunity if it arises.

What do you think?

06-Mar-15
do the Youth season-warmer,pre-rut.

06-Mar-15
I would but since I am a teacher getting time off is hard. The later season hit mine and her Christmas Break.

07-Mar-15
Not sure about reduced price youth tags. If your friend has food plots, she should have a very good chance at a buck, especially if you get some cold weather during that time. I live just north of Boone & zone 2 is a pretty easy zone to draw a tag in. If she doesn't draw on her first try, she is pretty much guarenteed that she will draw the next year.

I would suggest you & your daughter hunting out of an enclosed blind for several reasons. Even if you get really cold weather she will be able to stay fairly comfortable & enjoy her hunt more than if she gets cold. Movement can be an issue. Deer here get especially jumpy during late season here & tend to spook very easily. Generally during the late season the evening hunting is usually a lot better than the morning hunts because you are primarily hunting food sources. It's hard to get into food sources in the mornings without spooking everything.