Fuzzy 04-Aug-15
Owl 04-Aug-15
Fuzzy 05-Aug-15
Dr McJiblets 05-Aug-15
tonyo6302 05-Aug-15
Dr McJiblets 05-Aug-15
tonyo6302 05-Aug-15
31-Jul-15
Does anyone have any advice on getting started hunting? I'm 31 and live in Portsmouth. I've been a firefighter paramedic for ten years (still volunteer paramedic) and current pre-med student. I have a wife and our third kid will be here in December. I wanted to start a new tradition in my family that I could pass on to my sons someday (We'll have 3 boys by Christmas). I didn't have much time with my dad growing up and I'd like for my boys to have many fond memories of theirs. I've been on one hunt as a guest with a hunt club with my brother. While I enjoyed being outside, standing in the woods with a shotgun hoping to get lucky while the dogs chased and terrified the deer wasn't really my style. I didn't really feel like a "hunter" so much as a clueless guy in the woods. Those that did have a successful hunt seemed to do so with the ol' "spray'n'pray" method. I did get to help field dress a buck and a doe (each one taken down with no less than 2-3 shells). I'm a bit more methodical than that. Thus, I'd rather hunt more cunningly. I think I can get that from bow hunting; Something that requires a good bit of skill, planning, experience, and prowess. I have a RedHead Kronik XT Composite that I have had professionally tuned and I've had plenty of practice rounds with it. I have a decent collection of hunting gear so far (trying to convince the wife to let me get some new [warmer] boots though). I've done a good amount of research (VDGIF site, F&S, videos, etc.) and I'm excited about getting out there. I just don't want to step on any toes. I fall short on experience. I've spent countless hours scouring the VDGIF site and have a few questions. How do I go about finding good spots to hunt? The Dismal Swamp looks good. How do WMAs work? Do you just buy the access pass and show up with all of your gear? Is there any kind of "hunter's