IdyllwildArcher 16-Apr-17
osage 21-Apr-17
willliamtell 08-May-17
01-Apr-17
I'm just getting into bowhunting and I don't know where to start. I understand you have to get a certificate/course completed along with a hunting license. All of which I don't have, and need some basic guidance so I can get started on a new hobby.

Where can I go to practice? Where am I legally allowed to hunt on public land? I have searched online and cannot find any decent answers to any of this, yet I would like to start somewhere. Any suggestions for where to get trained near the central coast, and where I can practice in public land?

01-Apr-17
You have the entire coast range to hunt / practice on. This is the 'A' zone for hunting. Mostly National Forest. Don't know about any training or certificate requirements, but I'm sure some " government official " will sell you one.

10-Apr-17
Jebbe where do you live? I'm near Monterey so I hunt in Los Padres national forest. There's archery clubs around too that you should look into. I was able to get into a great bow club.

16-Apr-17

IdyllwildArcher's Link
Go to the link posted. You have to take the Hunter Ed course first before you can get a hunting license. You can either take the longer course in person, or do the first 1/2 of the course online and print up your certificate after you pass the test and then book the class and take in the certificate. Some of them require you to put the cert number in when you book it.

16-Apr-17
Once you've done that, take your card in your local archery or gun shop/Basspro, Dicks, etc, where hunting licenses are sold and they will input your card into the system. You can then buy a hunting license.

16-Apr-17

IdyllwildArcher's Link