Arrowone 09-Oct-17
Mint 09-Oct-17
Mad dog 09-Oct-17
ArrowOne 11-Oct-17
Mad dog 11-Oct-17
Arrowone 12-Oct-17
bow shot 13-Oct-17
07-Oct-17
Tuesday Oct. 3, first day out in my blind and set up by sunrise. At 7:40am a doe and a young buck 4 pts suddenly appear 20 yards in front of me. I had the chance of either doe or buck, went for buck. He must have jumped the string and I may have frazzled the shot but it hit him real high and forward; I saw the arrow up to the fletching as they ran away. I knew immediately it was a terrible shot. Waited over two hours before beginning to track. There was not one drop of blood to be seen anywhere, I mean not one. Since I am new to bow hunting I think in reviewing everything I probably miscalculated the shot somehow and he jumped the string. Looked for 4 days for that deer. Near sunset on that first day I was searching an area I'd seen a doe (possibly the same) hovering in the area, and in a logical direction it might have gone, but off my property. I was able to get permission to search neighbors woods behind big field, again I saw the doe. I take it she was staying close to the wounded buck because I have always seen those two together over the past year. I made my way up a semi clearing hillock and suddenly heard mad scrambling and dash through the leaves, but did not see deer. I think it was the buck, he went way off the reservation toward an area that has a huge lot of woods, but way way off my property. Drove by there a few times today scoping but nothing. I am assuming hopefully he will survive. If that was him I spooked in the woods and he was still alive over 10 hrs after being shot chances he may live another day. I learned more from this experience than I could have learned in a decade of reading books or articles on deer hunting with bow. But, I am still somewhat heartsick, frustrated, angry at myself. Have not take up the bow since then but slowly feeling like I should get back out there and try again.

07-Oct-17