xtroutx 19-Apr-18
PB in WI 20-Apr-18
albino 25-Apr-18
Live2hunt 26-Apr-18
rallison 26-Apr-18
albino 26-Apr-18
Trapper 26-Apr-18
18-Apr-18
In the how old are you thread Grape talked about how important arrow recovery was. For myself and many of you it was because our funds to buy more arrows was very limited. Later on I became concerned about broadheads doing damage to tractor tires, critters stepping on a broadhead, and yes being able to reuse the arrow and/or broadhead. They can be difficult to find at times. Just last year I shot a doe and the arrow recovery should have been easy. By the time I gutted the doe it was dark so I went back the next morning. I was on the ground when I shot and the angle was slightly down hill to a dry run that she was in when I shot. So there was a hill on the other side that the arrow should have been sticking out of. It wasn't visible. I studied the shot and I had a rake along so I started raking. The arrow might have gone where a large old busted off tree trunk landed so I started breaking off branches and raking there. I started to work more and more up hill thinking the pass thru could have deflected the arrow upward. I found one spec of blood. Raked around there, nothing. Then I looked 10 yards farther uphill and there it was laying clearly visible on top of the leaves.

Over the years I have lost a few arrows in the woods, probably less than a handfull. There are probably a couple that buried themselves in the grass and weeds downrange of my broadhead target area too.

18-Apr-18
I've "donated" plenty of arrows to the woods and 3D courses.

18-Apr-18
I have a number of arrows posted on the wall of my cabin. Each has a story.

The first is from an unknown hunter. I found it about 2010 sticking almost perfectly upright less than five yards from one of my stands. Whose arrow is it? Did the guy miss? From five yards? How did he get that far into my property without being picked up on a trail cam? I'll probably never know the answers.