Contributors to this thread:
Jeep937 29-Jun-18
Jeep937 29-Jun-18
pappy 01-Jul-18
Lever Action 01-Jul-18
BOX CALL 02-Jul-18
Ned 27-Jul-18
29-Jun-18
Hello Fellas and ladies if any, I am 100 percent new to the idea of bow hunting. Zero knowledge other than my common sense framework. I am 40 years old and in good shape. Work as a toolmaker 50 hours a week and have lots of expensive working hobbies like motorcycles, vintage 4x4s and cars, machining, fabrication, graphic design and printing, photography, videoography and so on.. I have been eating mostly organic or real food for about 10 years. Family, friends and neighboors all have farms where I get my eggs and beef and sometimes pork and chicken. I reside in the south eastern part of the state close to Dayton.

My idea is to get a bow and start practicing around where I live. Later I would like to ride my motorcycle to where the legal hunting grounds are and spend week ends getting to know the area and animals habbits and lifestyle. I want to understand as much about my prey as possible. I want to read the landscape and find where they move, sleep, eat and mate. Ideally I'd spend a year creepin in the woods before I ever attempt to bag one. I'd like to explore the man vs nature man vs himself concepts involved in this feat. Understand the local plants and surroundings. Where to camp so as not to disturb my hunting grounds or chance at a game encounter. I want to aquire my own meat and understand the cycle of nature from the spiritual side of sacrifice to sustenance, death gives to life.

On the otherside I want to avoid lyme disease at all costs. I want to know the laws, regulations and cultural norms inside and out so I can contribute positively the community. I have a long road ahead of me so any advice, links, crative direction or direct local envolment is welcome. I don't personally know anyone who has done this so any social events, clubs or happenings would be welcome. Thanks

29-Jun-18