Proline 03-Aug-18
TT-Pi 03-Aug-18
Will 03-Aug-18
BruceP 03-Aug-18
mrw 03-Aug-18
hickstick 03-Aug-18
TT-Pi 03-Aug-18
02-Aug-18
Hey guys-curious to hear any opinions on hunting near highway....for example- you legally shoot deer more than 150' off highway and it bolts in the direction of the highway... the question is it ethical to hunt an area where there is potential wounded deer makes its way on to the interstate ??? TIA

02-Aug-18
Sure why not?

Course don't listen to me I am a noob,..

02-Aug-18
Go for it they most likely won’t run to the highway

02-Aug-18
I usually hunt near a highway. I'm typically farther in than 150' but have been close to the setback. Never had a deer run towards the highway. I've seen deer drives in shotgun season in the same area. Deer head toward houses and thick areas. Not the highway.

02-Aug-18
In my opinion this is one of those tricky situations where ethical and legal diverge. Here's my take on it.

With regards to a wounded animal, IMO it's ethical to continue to hunt it and try to make the quickest kill possible, even within the setback (provided it is safe to do so, i.e. not shooting toward the road). Having said that, it's still not legal to release an arrow within the setback, regardless of which direction you are shooting.

Could make for a tough decision...

EDIT: I think I misunderstood the question at first. Now I think I understand more clearly what you're asking. What if your pursuit of the animal causes it to run onto the highway, becoming a danger to motorists? Wow, now it's even more complicated. I would probably continue to slowly/carefully hunt it.

02-Aug-18
Relax—150’ is good. The government decided this, so it can’t be wrong.

02-Aug-18
You guys hear about the guy out in California that shot the mule deer, tracked up into a Walmart parking lot, and started flinging arrows at it? Lol. I don’t suggest blasting at a deer on the highway if you happen to end up in that situation

02-Aug-18