bowhuntndoug 17-Aug-18
Bloodtrail 17-Aug-18
Crusader dad 18-Aug-18
bowhuntndoug 18-Aug-18
Pasquinell 18-Aug-18
RUGER1022 19-Aug-18
smokey 30-Aug-18
17-Aug-18
There is a thread on another forum with this same title, I borrowed the title and idea from there. I figured, "Why not start a WI version." Just post a WI hunting story...good, bad, sad, happy, old, new, one with a moral or one that's just entertaining. Let's hear it!

Here goes:

I started bowhunting at age 12. When I was a student at the Univ. of WI in the '60s I took one of my professors bowhunting, it was something he had always wanted to try. Despite tons of patience and my best efforts he was a real nimrod in the deer woods. He "just didn't get it."

Once, that first year, on a morning hunt I set him in a ground blind I'd made against a windfall. I then went a hundred yards down the trail to another blind. While waiting for daylight to arrive, in the stillness of the pre-dawn darkness, I suddnely heard sneezing, coughing, hacking throat clearing, and a whole comotion of nasal and throat noises coming from Frank's direction. The noises were loud and went on for at least 15 minutes!

Later I asked Frank what this was all about. He explained, "Well, I had my nasal spray in one pocket and my buck scent in my other pocket. Both were in small plastic squeeze bottles and I got them mixed up."

And that explained all the noise and comotion and why we never saw a deer that morning!

Note: Eventually Frank did become a pretty good bowhunter and we developed a solid friendship. He was the best man at my wedding a few years later. Frank is gone now but this has always been a good story to tell around a campfire and a good memory from "back then."

17-Aug-18
Funny story Bill.