Letmgrow 21-Nov-18
Letmgrow 21-Nov-18
kakiat kid 21-Nov-18
Shawlerbrook 21-Nov-18
Letmgrow 21-Nov-18
Arrowone 24-Nov-18
Letmgrow 26-Nov-18
21-Aug-18
I purchased a farm in Dekalb Junction which is in St. Lawrence county a year ago and this will be my second fall owning it. I am from northern Vermont and do not know many local hunters. I have been trying to assess what is the quality of a mature buck in this area. Any information would be greatly appreciated. I am new to the Bowsite website. Thank you.

21-Aug-18
I would recommend you run as many trail cams as reasonable for the size of your property. If you do,it right you’ll know for sure what’s present in that locality and you can judge. During the rut you may get a surprise or two and by that I mean a surprise on the upside. Just my opinion.

21-Aug-18
Thank you for the response. I should have been more specific, my property is 345 acres and I run 12 cameras. I have a good handle of the quality of bucks on my place but am wondering if the potential of the area is better than what I have. Last year was interesting, I had pics of 16 different bucks but only 1 that was 3.5 years old. Age structure seems really young to me. I thought during the rut I would have some strangers roll through but it didn't happen.

21-Aug-18
I'm sure the potential is there, but it's not able to express itself. If you aren't picking up many 2+ yo and had pics of fifteen 1 yr olds then I would guess the majority of your neighbors are shooting young bucks. The bucks are there, they just aren't getting any age behind them. Maybe take a good look at your acreage and put some time into some habitat improvement that may help hold some deer on your ground for longer. Not an easy task, but you can get a lot of satisfaction and enjoyment out of it. Tons of great info out there on this subject as well. You don't have to own big equipment to make big improvements.

22-Aug-18