Shawn 27-Sep-18
4nolz@work 02-Oct-18
4nolz@work 02-Oct-18
4nolz@work 02-Oct-18
hawkeye arrow 20-Oct-18
4nolz@work 22-Oct-18
Fainsirly 15-Jul-20
30-Aug-18
Hello, I mainly hunt MN and WI but am really looking to expand my archery experiences. I have been thinking a lot about Iowa and what the state may offer. I am not a trophy hunter per se but really enjoy the experience of new hunts. Don't get me wrong I would love to harvest a trophy but that isn't what drives my hunting experience. That said, I have ZERO knowledge of how to go about tackling IA's application process. I have read the NR IOWA Deer Application Instructions and just have some questions.

1) When the hell can you apply for the bow season? 2) Do you have to know what zone/area you want to apply to immediately? 3) When can you purchase PP for the current or future seasons? 4) Is the cost of a bow license the same as the Gun? The instructional PDF on the IA DNR page tells you what to do just not how to do it and when. A little confused. Any insight would be helpful. Thanks in advance.

P.S. I would be hunting public land as I do not have private land access

30-Aug-18
I am a resident so I don't know all of this for sure. A call to Des Moines would be best or asking on the general forum as a lot of them apply here. However, I looked online at our website. It appears 1) you can apply from May 5-June 3. Results are posted July 21. You must specify Season C which is the bow season 2) It appears you need to know what zone unless you are applying for a preference point only, which most zones take 3 years to draw it looks. 3) May 5-June 3 $50 for PP (non-refundable) plus application fees. You do not lose your points if you purchase an antlerless tag. 4) I would say yes. $426 for the deer license, $112 for the hunting license and $13 for the habitat stamp.