Les 11-Sep-18
Belchertown Bowman 11-Sep-18
Proline 11-Sep-18
Will 11-Sep-18
peterk1234 11-Sep-18
Jimbo 11-Sep-18
mrw 11-Sep-18
11-Sep-18
So I got my climber. I've tested it out a few times in the trees on my property and, damn, what a pain in the ass this thing is! I may as well have a Mariachi Band playing while I struggle to set the thing up and get going. So far I have it down to about 7 minutes, that's from undoing it off of my back, strapping it to the tree, then getting up to height (usually ~20'). Does anyone have any tips for when you actually go into the woods on making this thing a little easier to deal with? Packing tips? etc.

As always, much appreciated!

TWO AND A HALF WEEKS!!!

11-Sep-18
You got a summit viper right?

I'll try to make a video this week. I'll have my girlfriend tape me setting mine up and climbing. I've been using mine for about 12 years now and can set up, and climb with basically no noise at all. I can go from having it on my back, to being settled up in the tree in under 10 minutes. I've gotten up a tree and settled with deer 50 yards from me before. I take it for granted though, being that comfortable with it. After 12 years you really get it down to a science. It seems like many guys are very noisy with theirs. Especially a couple of my friends. I have a lot of little tricks to a quiet set up though. I will make a video this week and put it on youtube and paste the link here for everyone to see. Don't worry, you WILL get the hang of it and you will love it.

First things first though... have you completely covered it in tape yet? I bought a few rolls of camo duct tape and completely covered every single inch of the top and bottom pieces. This is essential to a quiet set up/climb.

11-Sep-18
Electrical tape in certain Clangy spots works wonders. With my Treewalker I had to do a few mods to quiet it down. The only other tip is to take your time and go slow. I’d rather take two extra minutes then clang and kill your chances.