DanWesson357 26-Sep-18
DanWesson357 27-Sep-18
elk yinzer 27-Sep-18
daleheth 27-Sep-18
26-Sep-18

DanWesson357's Link
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dJHb6WoOFvc

Hello,

I am wondering if I was to field dress a PA Whitetail DOE...using the gutless method such as depicted in the video I pasted above...what do I do with the tag??

I would of course tag the doe as soon as I recovered the animal. But if I was able to quarter the doe and take the edible meat parts, and pack them out as opposed to dragging the entire animal, what do I do with the TAG?? Do I leave the tag on the ear of the doe or do I take the tag and keep it with the meat?

Thanks for any guidance.

26-Sep-18
I would say keep the tag with the meat.

26-Sep-18
Call it in on your cell phone, keep proof of sex, and pack it out.

26-Sep-18
I've been doing this for a few years and consulted PGC officers. Ear tag has to remain in the ear and carried out with the meat. I got mixed answers whether you could skin the head and ears off the skull. One officer said you have to carry the whole head out. I take my chances there and just carry out the skinned out portion.

26-Sep-18
Would be effective in the CWD areas where you cannot take certain parts out of the zone. Quarter and remove loins, carry out, keeping spine and head behind. But... what do you do with the tag?

26-Sep-18
You cannot leave a carcass behind in the DMAP CWD areas. You have to take the spine and head to a CWD dump station.

The regulations on that make it tough for me to go back and hunt some of my favorite land.

26-Sep-18
Incorrect Phil, straight from the PGC's webpage on methods for handling high risk deer parts. "The least preferred option, though lawful, is to bone out the deer in the woods and leave the high-risk parts in the field."

26-Sep-18