Les 17-Oct-18
TT-Pi 17-Oct-18
UrbanHunter 17-Oct-18
Qdiver911 17-Oct-18
Huntskifishcook 18-Oct-18
Huntskifishcook 18-Oct-18
spike78 18-Oct-18
17-Oct-18
My buddy an I are going to attempt to butcher my doe from last night. We've watched tons of videos online, my favorite so far is the Netflix show Meateater. There's an entire episode on butchering a deer.

Anyone have good resources to share, tips tricks, advice, experiences, hilarious failures that I can learn from to make this first time less painful?

17-Oct-18
I'm no expert but I have been "butchering" deer for a few years now and between my deer, family and friends I cut up between 10 and 15 a year. There is nothing difficult about it, I shot my first deer and my brother and I figured it out, I'm sure you will be fine. My biggest bits of advice would be take your time, don't be in a rush. Use very sharp knives. I prefer an 8 inch boning knife. The biggest thing is don't cut yourself. My procedure goes like this. I hang the deer by the back legs and I cut the front hooves off at aprox. the elbow/knee joint with a hack saw. Then I zip up the front legs with my knife to the arm pit. I will cut from the sternum down to the throat as far as I can. I always start skinning from the rear legs down. I do this to try to minimize getting any dear hair on the meat. Once I have the skin down to the head I severe the neck as close to the head as I can get. This gets the skin away from the meat. Next step for me is to remove both front legs, Then I remove the back straps and tenderloins. I take as much meat off the ribs and neck as I can, this meat is usually hacked off and I grind it. I've tried doing the neck as a roast before and didn't care for it. Finally I cut the rear legs away from the pelvis. I trim as much meat as I can for the grinder. I will usually wrap the quarters in plastic wrap and put them in the fridge overnight. The next evening I will debone all the meat. I usually wind up grinding all the meat from the fr