cnelk 17-Jan-19
sticksender 17-Jan-19
archeranthony 17-Jan-19
jordanathome 17-Jan-19
archeranthony 17-Jan-19
Paul@thefort 18-Jan-19
Jmco3061 04-Sep-19
16-Jan-19
Hello all. Newbie here. I am not a resident of Colorado. My family has a house in Fraser, Colorado. However we live in Texas. I just have some general questions about hunting unit 18. Im pretty familiar with the area and plan on hunting the Arapaho area west of 125. Anybody have any experience out there. I know there are going to be tons of hunters and i will have to go pretty deep im thinking like 6 miles in or further to get away from most. I will be archery hunting for elk and probably get a bear tag too. I see the success is not high in that area. because of the number of hunters. Im mainly looking to have a good time with my family and get the experience for future hunting this area. I'm not looking for anyones honey holes or anything like that. Just any tips or advice on the area anyone would like to give.

16-Jan-19
Welcome to the Bowsite, Anthony. In that unit, 6 miles in will often put you right in the middle of the second layer of hunters. The go-getter Sitka Army and the horse camps. Instead, look for places where others aren't hunting for one reason or another. If you can get up there a few times this summer and check out some spots that look positive on Google Earth or GAIA, you will have some options to bounce around during season. Be mobile. Don't tie yourself to a backpack camp unless you KNOW elk will be there, and not a bunch of other hunters. You can backpack in and spike camp after you find elk from a mobile camp.

Good luck and enjoy the adventure. Remember before you shoot one that you'll be butchering and packing out the equivalent of a horse from wherever it dies. It may be very warm, and elk quarters are heavy. So plan your hunt with that in mind. Good luck!

16-Jan-19