1boonr 22-Jan-19
Rich 22-Jan-19
KSflatlander 22-Jan-19
Thornton 22-Jan-19
Genesis 14-Feb-19
Thornton 14-Feb-19
kscowboy 14-Feb-19
21-Jan-19
Not hunting related per se, but I live on a rural place in Dickinson County and found out recently (by accident, from a neighbor who found out by accident) that the city near us has been planning and already has had an engineering firm draw up plans for a new sewage lagoon that will end up being close to my place and will run a pipeline out from town about three miles right down the county dirt road I use to get in and out. Worst is they plan to take 56 acres from an old farmer adjacent to us to build the lagoon. Beginning to mobilize the defense against this, does anyone know of a good lawyer who has experience fighting things like this? I am not an engineer, but it sure seems to me like it is going to be a lot more expensive to build a new facility and pipe stuff three miles than to fix the current facility, especially for a town that is small and there is no possible reason it will grow substantially any time soon. The fact that they never told anybody who lives out this way (I've had a mailing address here more than three years now) suggests to me they haven't done all the required public information and probably environmental impact studies required of such a project. Any advice is welcome, but I really would like to get a lawyer with experience on such things, not somebody who handles divorces, DUI defense, etc., need somebody who can fight city hall. Thanks in advance.

21-Jan-19
Richard, I don't know if you are on face book or not, but I think that would be a better venu for a much bigger audience.

22-Jan-19
Most good lawyers dealing with land issues of condemnation, easement access rights etc run about $500-$650 per hour for starters. Do as much as you can yourself and get the real scoop on what’s happening before hiring an attorney. Once he is on board land issues can be lengthy and costly. Good luck.

22-Jan-19