Live2hunt 13-Feb-19
Hoot 13-Feb-19
northbound 13-Feb-19
Trapper 14-Feb-19
Jeff in MN 14-Feb-19
Chris S 14-Feb-19
Trapper 15-Feb-19
12-Feb-19
So, I drew my first bear tag in zone C this year. That said, I know that in some areas the pressure is pretty heavy and there are a lot of baits to compete with. However, I will be hunting in the very northern part of zone C on some private land with (to my knowledge) no other bear hunters around. I know that there are bears on the property and this is my first time getting a bait going, so any pointers on how to get the bears hitting the bait? I have sources for fry grease and I have a few bait depots around the area to get bait, I can handle that part. I just am curious how to get them started and get the bears to them. It's not like I'm going to be very far from the house at any given time, though there is some good swamp and creek beds and good habitat for them I am just curious if they'll be willing to come eat in daylight if it's that close to human sounds, smells, etc. Give me some pointers so I can plan! Thank you in advance!

12-Feb-19
Got nothing for you except congratulations.

12-Feb-19
There is a lot of info online. Also read Bernie Barringer's book "Bear Baiter's manual". That should get you started.

12-Feb-19
Get smells up in the air so the smell carries. You can use the commercial stuff from fleet farm or your fryer oil. Use whatever you can get your hands on for that as long as it has strong smell. Guessing you won't have a lot of bait sites so make sure you set them up for different winds of your other baits.

Note: Fryer ( Grease ) is illegal. You can use fryer oil as long as it doesn't get solid

13-Feb-19
The only consistent thing about bears is that they are inconsistent. What one will do, the next will not.

Be prepared for a lot of work, time and effort and even then there are no absolutes.