Tjw 15-May-19
Ranger 15-May-19
Bill in MI 19-May-19
14-May-19

MarineF18driver's embedded Photo
here is my biggest (of 2) bull to date for reference. Roughly 270
MarineF18driver's embedded Photo
here is my biggest (of 2) bull to date for reference. Roughly 270
Hey guys, With 1 point I somehow drew the Book Cliffs, Bitter Creek South Archery LE elk tag this year. I am absolutely stoked and was hoping some of you might have insight into hunting this unit.

A little background on me: I'm a Marine Corps F-18 pilot stationed in Iwakuni Japan so getting back to scout before hand is going to be impossible. I have bowhunted for the last 22 years, and elk for the last 10. After 7 unsuccessful years in Colorado, Montana and Idaho I have gone 3 for 3 on my last 3 elk bowhunts (raghorn, 270'', and a cow), along with calling in a few decent bulls for my buddy. I would say physical fitness and mental toughness are my strong suits, but obviously still have a ton to learn and have zero knowledge about Utah or the Book Cliffs. Almost all of my elk hunting has been bivy hunting 3-12miles back in the mountains. The only open country experience I have is a hunt a few years back in the Montana breaks. My calling has definitely improved in the last couple of years and I would almost call it a strength. I have a tripod, 10x50s, mathews halon (good out to about 60 yards on game day elk), and all the backpacking gear. I will not have access to horses or quads unless I hire a guide.

I am still getting my feet wet and am by no means a trophy hunter, looking to enjoy this experience and hopefully take a representative bull

- would you recommend I hire a guide? (and if so any recs?)( I have had some recent success DIY but I will likely have to wait 16 years to ever draw this tag again)

- anybody available to talk on the phone about their past experiences/recommendations?

- what dates within the archery season (aug 17-sept13) would you target if you only had 10 days?