kent 05-Aug-19
brewski 26-Aug-19
brewski 26-Aug-19
brewski 26-Aug-19
GregBFL 28-Aug-19
kent 29-Aug-19
bghunter 10-Sep-19
29-May-19
I will be around Okeechobee hunting gators in August. I have hunted gators in Florida before but not this area. It was reccomended I do not hunt at night because of snakes.

Should I look into gators (footwear) and a snakebite kit?

03-Jun-19
I'm new to Florida, came from CT. I just feel more comfortable wearing snake boots. Before I got a pair I found myself constantly looking at the ground rather than concentrating on looking ahead to spot game----Good luck--Kent

06-Jun-19
Good point! Thanks!

10-Jun-19
Most the snakes in Florida reside in Tallahassee just sayin. Bob

05-Aug-19
Snake boots/gaitors are a good idea. The poisonous snakes you will find in Florida are the Cottenmouths, Diamondback and Pigmy rattlesnakes, Coral snake and Copperhead. As far as I am aware the Copperhead is only in North Florida but the rest are spread throughout the state. We have a lot of Cottenmouths around the lakes, rivers and swamps. You will find rattlers pretty much anywhere but they tend to like dryer environments. Where I live we see a lot of Coral snakes (Red touches Yellow, kill a Fellow. Red touches Black, friend of Jack). The largest I've ever seen my neighbor killed on my property and it was 42 inches with the head removed. He's got the skin hanging in his house.

05-Aug-19
Hello Greg, what part of the state are you in. I'm in Bay county just getting settled. I did not know coral snakes got so long, I always thought the were fairly short as in 2 feet or so. I have been told that around here there are rattle snakes that are common but have yet to come across one. I'm sure its just a matter of time

26-Aug-19

brewski's embedded Photo
brewski's embedded Photo