joebuck 06-Jun-19
Gusto 06-Jun-19
joebuck 06-Jun-19
Gusto 06-Jun-19
GoJakesGo 08-Jun-19
ground hunter 08-Jun-19
Konk1 10-Jun-19
05-Jun-19
Was thinking about picking up Tactacam to do some self filming during my hunts. This is just for fun / novelty / sharing with buddies and I don’t plan on doing “production quality” type videos or anything. I’m wondering about which model might be best... I can get the Tactacam Solo WiFi at Walmart for like $148, while Scheels has the 4.0 on sale for $299. The 4.0 has better “zoom” (5x vs 3x) and some other features, but the new Solo unit (similar to the old 2.0 unit) also has WiFi and can work with the Tactacam app. Just wondering if it’s worth double the price to get a 4.0?

05-Jun-19
I have no first hand experience, just videos I’ve watched on youtube. My opinion, which could be completely off, is that they work great for close shots. I’ve watched videos where someone shoots a deer at 30 yards and you can’t really see much of it. This is the only reason I haven’t bought one yet. I’m sure I will anyway at some point, though!

05-Jun-19
I’ve noticed that if I watch the videos on my phone or small tablet they aren’t that great, watching on a full size monitor is better. GoPro style “wide angle” or “fish eye” lens are the worst and while cool for extreme skiing videos aren’t really great for hunting. In watching videos that compare the “zoom”... which is digital zoom not optical, I’m really wondering if it’s worth the extra cost to go from the Solo to the 4.0

05-Jun-19
You can get perfectly functional trail cams for around $42 to $60. I googled it. I am happy with the 20+ cheap cameras that I have.

05-Jun-19
These (Tactacam / GoPro / etc) are bow (or on-person) mounted action cams to capture “in the moment “ footage, not statically mounted trail cams

05-Jun-19