Grasshopper 12-Sep-19
CCOVEY 12-Sep-19
goelk 12-Sep-19
JRABQ 12-Sep-19
JRABQ 12-Sep-19
Elkmo 12-Sep-19
Hondolane 13-Sep-19
11-Sep-19
Hello everyone again. I know I have been asking questions and maybe too much. Anyway sorry if that is pissing people off but another question that bugs me is how do you guys hunt elk during the day if you do. When I was up hunting every situation played out that I only see elk in the morning and the evening. During the day I just took naps but it bothered me so much, it's like I am wasting my time but I have no clue what to do at all. Any suggestions or strategies you guys could recommend. Thank you, Daniel.

11-Sep-19
I'm a newbie, but the fellas I was hunting with shot their elk between noon and 2pm. They actually slept in til about 8 ish, had a small breakfast, and headed to their tree stands. My guess after hiking in, they were in their stands by 9:30.

11-Sep-19
Zero chance I’m eating breakfast and waiting until 9am to go sit in a tree stand. I’d rather stay home. I’m in my hunting spot 30 minutes before shoot time, listening and bugling.

I bring a hammock. Early season I’m snoozing by 10am. Usually around 4pm I’ll head to a lookout and watch and listen. When the sun dips below the mountains and the thermals start heading down then I hunt for the last 40 minutes or so. I’ve killed 4 bulls in 4 years during those last 40 minutes. =D

12-Sep-19
Depends. If you hunt early in the season and have a good wallow to sit on, the middle of the day can be productive sitting in a stand.

Also, if you are in an area with other hunters, they may push them by you sometimes, so I stay in the woods, even if I take a nap there, and occasionally cow call. Bulls are more likely to come in silent during the middle of the day.

12-Sep-19
At the peak of the rut, when you have the days where elk bugle all day long, it does not matter when you get up and go after them. In fact, if you get going after thermals switch, it can be beneficial.