Refund 26-Oct-19
kakiat kid 26-Oct-19
Mint 05-Nov-19
Rjtfd 09-Dec-19
NYCArcher 15-Dec-19
Refund 07-Jan-20
20-Oct-19
Hey all,

I'm from Staten Island, trying to find a place close enough for a day trip. I'm relatively new to bow hunting and I'm still trying to get my bearings.

I recently took a trip up to Sterling and walked around for about four hours. I probably covered about 3.5-4 miles and I was able to find some rubs; some old, some new and a bed or two. Most of the places I scouted seemed like they would be rough to access with a climber and seem like a nightmare to get a deer out of--most of it was steep and pretty rocky. With the amount of sign that I found, it didn't make it seem worth the hassle. There were a few other spots that I wanted to scout but finding access as well as finding time was an issue.

I was thinking about checking out Stewart but from what I've read it's stocked with Ringnecks and there are a lot of wing shooters that go. Also, parking seems like it may be an issue. Is it accurate that the majority of spots only have room for one or two vehicles? That sounds like it can be an issue when you have a particular spot that you want to hunt. The topo and satellite gives me the impression that Stewart is much more accessible in comparison to Sterling. Although, if there are a lot of bird hunters around the area shooting shotguns and running dogs I can't help but doubt that deer would want to hang around the place.

I guess New Jersey is always a viable option as well but it's a much more expensive option for a non-resident.

If somebody is familiar with the area and wouldn't mind pointing me towards some land that isn't over run with hikers, mountain bikers, bird hunters, etc. I'd appreciate the help.

If anybody is local and is in the same boat as me or just wants somebody to hunt and/or scout with I'd be more than happy to provide some company!

21-Oct-19
Google the NYC DEP property. I have not hunted it but it might be worth checking out.