Notme 11-Feb-20
nehunter 11-Feb-20
Toonces 11-Feb-20
nehunter 11-Feb-20
Bloodtrail 11-Feb-20
Toonces 11-Feb-20
HolePuncher 11-Feb-20
07-Feb-20
Hey there everyone, I'm new to hunting in CT and hunting in general. I was planning on hunting the Tower Hill section of CSF with crossbow from an improvised blind. I'll be going scouting soon. Any advice on what to look for? I know about saddles and draws but I don't have much experience. Also would it be worth investing in a caller? Thank you.

07-Feb-20
Welcome. What do you plan to hunt for? Good time of the year to get out and scout, especially after a fresh snow.

07-Feb-20
Whitetail deer. I was thinking about using a fawn in distress call early season because I heard that could bring in does. I also hear that CSF has a lot of deer but the harvest reports don't look so good. What's your take?

07-Feb-20
I see incredible deer sign over there during woodcock season. But i see it where it’s thick with saplings in the woodcock cover. An arrow couldn’t fly 5 yards. But there are deer over there.

08-Feb-20

HolePuncher's Link
scout more than you hunt. look for the highest concentration of fresh sign, tracks, droppings, scraps, rubs, etc. a blind is not really needed, sit with your back against a tree as wide or more than you and you will not likely be noticed. always try to be downwind of the expected deer travel. I don't recommend calling, you want the deer to have no idea you're there.

08-Feb-20
The L'il Doe in a Can has lured many deer to me. An old scrape line is a fall hunting season activity, to indicate where they might be during hunting season.

08-Feb-20