One Arrow 21-Feb-21
One Arrow 21-Feb-21
sitO 21-Feb-21
be still 21-Feb-21
One Arrow 21-Feb-21
sitO 21-Feb-21
doubledrop 22-Feb-21
20-Feb-21
I’m looking into purchasing an action camera. Specifically the tacticam 5.0 or the GoPro Hero 9.

I’ve watched videos, read views comparing the tacticam to GoPro Hero 7, not the 8 or 9. It seems the tacticam is the winner vs. the Hero 7. But the Hero 9 seems loaded with options including great video stabilization.

Any feedback on action cameras you use? I’ve been using a video camera, but would like to mount something onto my bow.

I’m fairly knowledgeable about video editing so I’m not worried about needing to zoom in with the GoPro if needed. I would think with the 5K it would be extremely clear even if I had to zoom it in x8. Thoughts?

20-Feb-21
Ray, I've no experience with the GP past the 4, and never used any other brand of "action cam". What I do know is that none of them have ever been able to compensate for hand shock at "release" when bow or gun mounted. The image stabilization is better with the 7 and on, but still compromised at the most crucial/important moment.

Can it be "smoothed" via editing, yes...some, but still not enough IMO. Over the shoulder or on a stick/tripod they're great, and I may try a 7 or newer for some hunts where those applications aren't an option.

Recording hunts has been an added challenge for me over the years. Some of the hunts I've recorded mean nothing to others but I don't care, they bring back great memories for me.

20-Feb-21

Cracken74's embedded Photo
Cracken74's embedded Photo
I just upgraded to mirrorless 4k camera. Hoping to get some good memories hunting with my kids as they are just starting.

20-Feb-21
Kyle, the image during the shot has always bothered me. The Hero9, if you can believe the company, seems to have made some pretty significant advances on stabilization.