soccern23ny 06-Mar-21
Glunt@work 06-Mar-21
squirrel 07-Mar-21
Paul@thefort 09-Mar-21
cnelk 10-Mar-21
Paul@thefort 10-Mar-21
Flatland hunter 10-Mar-21
06-Mar-21
Hey, I have been hunting in unit 18 for several years. I didn’t make it out last year due to my father in law being sick and then passing away, which due to the fires in the area, wouldn’t have happened anyhow. My question is, how intense were the fires? Would it be worth it to hit the area again this year. We usually are below the continental divide, and west of 125. TIA

06-Mar-21
Hey, I have been hunting in unit 18 for several years. I didn’t make it out last year due to my father in law being sick and then passing away, which due to the fires in the area, wouldn’t have happened anyhow. My question is, how intense were the fires? Would it be worth it to hit the area again this year. We usually are below the continental divide, and west of 125. TIA

06-Mar-21
wear black. you will be invisible

06-Mar-21
I've read elk love post burn areas. Issue may be how hot these fires were/may not have the same usual recovery as normal fires of decades past, thus maybe not the same effect on the elk. Will be interesting for sure.

On the bright side, if you do go won't have to worry about beettle kill anymore

06-Mar-21
The CPW showed the tracking results from collared elk in the Cameron Peak fire. They barely moved and were back inside the fire boundary in spots that it had gone through.

07-Mar-21