Bugleboy 05-Dec-22
wyobullshooter 05-Dec-22
PushCoArcher 05-Dec-22
jordanathome 20-Jan-23
CTBobcat 03-Feb-23
wytex 06-Feb-23
CTBobcat 08-Feb-23
04-Dec-22
Hello all, I am trying to figure out how to go about getting an archery tag. I have googled it but just don’t find the answer I’m looking for. I have 2 preference points. I am wanting to know if I’d be able to hunt Wyoming in 2023 archery only. Tried to find draw odds but nothing came up for archery. I’m a non resident from P.A. And have never hunted Wyoming but have hunted Colorado since ‘92 Thank you in advance.

04-Dec-22
The archery only tags are called type 9 tags. Wyoming does thing's a bit different they have type 1 tags are bull or either sex, type 4 full price cow, type 6 reduced price cow/calf, type 9 bow only, etc. But many of the rifle tags have a special archery season (usually in September) that you can hunt by buying a archery stamp. I think you still need the archery stamp even with a type 9 tag. Unfortunately 2 points probably won't get you much certainly not a type 9 tag.

05-Dec-22
As PushCoArcher notes, Type 9 licenses are archery only. Several areas offer Type 9 licenses, however the overwhelming number of areas do not. Of those that do have Type 9's, only a handful offer the entire season to those holders. For the rest, Type 9 holders get less than half the season to themselves. After that, anyone with a Type 1 (Any Elk), Type 4 (Antlerless Elk), and Type 6 and 7 (Reduced Price Cow/Calf) licenses can join the party, once the Special Archery Season kicks in...for the price of an archery license. Type 9 license holders DO NOT need an archery license.

There are only a VERY few areas that you will even be able to sniff drawing a Type 9 License with 2 PP's. Those areas will most likely have extremely limited public access, so buyer beware.

05-Dec-22